Bomb explodes outside Greek bank branch, no one injured

Following the election of the President of the Commission Jose Manuel Barroso, in September and the naming of the High Representative-Vice President of the Commission Cathrerine Ashton, all 27 member states have now nominated Commissioners designate.

Cyprus has designated Androulla Vasiliou, current EU Commissioner for Health.

President Barroso will now proceed with the allocation of portfolios.

''I am pleased to have received nominations from all member states'', he said, adding ''now it is my job to allocate the right portfolios to the right people''.

Barrosso said he looks forward to present a strong Commission team to the European Parliament.

Hearings at the European Parliament will take place in January before the College of Commissioners as a whole will be subject to a vote of approval by the European Parliament.

Financial Mirror, November 26, 2009|||Androulla Vasiliou is Cyprus designate for EU Commissioner for Health
Show more
Show less

Popular Practices

© Accountants in Cyprus. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions